2020 HIA-CSR Australian Housing Award Winners Announced

  • Article by:

On Friday 29 May, the 2020 HIA-CSR Australian Housing Awards named their 21 winners from across the country. To cater for the current restrictions in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, the awards were announced in a special online ceremony – the first of its kind in the program’s long history. These awards are one of the highest platforms that showcase the talents of the best builders and designers in the country.


The awards are designed to recognise exemplary players and projects in the industry, including major builders, small businesses and other industry professionals who contribute to the Australian residential building industry. The awards are judged on a range of criteria, including workmanship quality, creative design and business acumen.


The awards consist of 22 categories and winners are chosen from state-based finalists. Members of HIA have become renowned across the nation for their incredible workmanship and attention to detail as well as the innovation, passion and expertise they bring to the industry. As such, to win an HIA award has become a coveted achievement.

winner of aaustralian hoome the year

BJ Millar Constructions, 2020 HIA-CSR Australian Home of the Year

Australian Home of the Year

This year, the winner of the most prestigious award of the ceremony – 2020 HIA-CSR Australian Home of the Year – was BJ Millar Constructions in Queensland. This well-deserved achievement proves their commitment to the industry and their ability to exemplify the qualities that HIA values.


Managing Director of HIA, Graham Wolfe, stated that these awards recognise the best that the Australian residential building industry has to offer.


“HIA is committed to recognising the outstanding achievements of our members. The Awards

allow us to acknowledge members who excel in building exceptional homes, kitchens and

bathrooms and run highly successful businesses.”


“The Award winners have surpassed the highest standards in workmanship and pushed the

boundaries with design and innovation. It is my absolute pleasure to congratulate each winner

for their hard work and commitment to excellence.”


“My congratulations also goes to the professional builders and business partners who are

ahead of the game in customer service and business practices,” Mr Wolfe said.


The 2020 HIA-CSR Australian Housing Awards Winners

Home of the Year – BJ Millar Constructions (Queensland)

Apartment of the year

Apartment of the Year Adrian Zorzi (Western Australia)

Townhouse/Villa of the Year – Metricon Homes (South Australia)

Custom Built Home – BJ Millar Constructions (Queensland)

Display Home – Novus Homes (Western Australia)

Outdoor Project – Hamik Luxury Homes (NSW)

Project Home
Thomas Archer Homes (Victoria)

Renovation/Addition Project – Visioneer Builders (Victoria)

Spec Home – Camelot Homes (NSW)

Specialised Housing – Jaxon Construction (Western Australia)

Apartment Complex – Crown Group (NSW)

Townhouse/Villa Development – Creative Building Services and DNA Architects (ACT & Southern NSW)

bathroom of the year

Bathroom of the Year Preferred Builders, Paul Tilse Architects and Braithwaite Innovative Joinery (ACT & Southern NSW)

Bathroom Design – MyStyle Homes (QLD) and Kim Duffin Design (North Queensland)

Kitchen of the Year – JAG Kitchens (South Australia)

Kitchen Design – MyStyle Homes (QLD) and Kim Duffin Design (North Queensland)

Professional Major Builder – Henley Properties Group (Victoria)

Professional Medium Builder/Renovator – Ronald Young & Co. Builders (Tasmania)

Professional Small Builder/Renovator – Ultimo Constructions (Western Australia)

Jim Brookes Australian Apprentice – Jake Blokker (Tasmania)

Business Partner – Rebecca Bishop (Elite Building Services, Victoria)

People’s Choice Home – MyStyle Homes (Queensland)

Published: 17/07/2020